BRISTOL CITY COUNCIL

EXTRAORDINARY FULL COUNCIL MEETING

21 JULY 2015

REPORT OF:Service Director – Legal & Democratic ServicesTITLE:APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMENWARD:Citywide

RECOMMENDATION

 That Full Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman upon former councillors Mark Bailey, Colin Smith, Jackie Norman and Faruk Choudhury.

Summary

This report explains the policy for conferring the title of Honorary Alderman, describes the role and function of persons who hold that office and presents details of the offices held / service by the above named.

The significant issues in the report are:

Paragraphs 1-6 - Criteria and background of the process.Paragraph 7 - Proposal and details of offices held by the nominees.

Policy

The proposal accords with the Council's policy on conferring the office of Honorary Alderman on former Council members.

Consultation

Party Group Leaders and Whips. Audit Committee.

Context

- 1. Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 empowers the Council, by resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting at a meeting specially convened for the purpose, to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on a person who has, in the Council's opinion, rendered eminent services to the Council as a past member.
- 2. Council has agreed that the Audit Committee, in its role of monitoring and ensuring ethical standards and probity within Bristol City Council, should ensure all Honorary Aldermen nominations meet the criteria as set out below before they are forwarded to the Council for approval:

A minimum period of ten years service or having served in a position of significant public responsibility on behalf of the Council or for a Bristol ward on the former Avon County Council.

- **3.** An Honorary Alderman may attend and take part in such civic ceremonies as the Council may from time to time decide. Aldermen are not entitled to receive any members' allowances or other payments of allowances, expenses etc. Whilst a person who is a serving City Councillor cannot be made an Honorary Alderman, the Act does appear to envisage that a person on whom this honour has been conferred may subsequently be re-elected as a Councillor. In these circumstances, the Act specially provides that no Honorary Alderman shall, whilst serving as a City Councillor, be entitled to be addressed as Alderman or to attend or take part in any civic ceremonies of the Council as an Alderman.
- 4. Honorary Aldermen substitute for the Lord Mayor or Deputy Lord Mayor on a relatively infrequent basis. They are also invited to all major civic events, church services and Council meetings. They have no other formal role.
- 5. Council has agreed that the Honorary Aldermen's Association should be supported, but that no support should be provided for individual Honorary Aldermen.
- 6. The Audit Committee at its meeting on 24 April 2015 considered the nominations and recommended to Full Council that Mark Bailey, Colin Smith, Jackie Norman and Faruk Choudhury be made Honorary Aldermen of the City and County of Bristol. Former councillors Sean Beynon and Jay Jethwa were also nominated and recommended for approval their respective appointments will be considered at an extraordinary Full Council meeting on 15

September 2015.

Proposal

7. The Audit Committee requests Council to consider the Honorary Alderman nominations as follows (details of service are set out below):

a. Mark Bailey

Mark Bailey was first elected as a Liberal Democrat councillor for Windmill Hill ward in May 2003. He stood down as a councillor in May 2015.

Details of Mark Bailey's service as are follows:

- Served as the Liberal Democrat group's Chief Whip from May 2004 until he stepped down from the Council in May 2015.
- Over the years, served on various committees including the former Education Scrutiny Committee, Overview and Scrutiny Management Commission, the Outside Bodies Committee, the Joint Employee Relations Board, and the Corporate Employee Health and Safety Consultative Committee.
- Longstanding governor of two primary schools in the Windmill Hill ward, having served for 16 years at Victoria Park Primary School and for 5 years at St Mary Redcliffe Primary School.
- Member of many community organisations in the Windmill Hill ward and is especially proud of being a founder member of two very successful park groups, the Victoria Park Action Group (VPAG) and The Community of Perrett's Park (COPP).
- Served as a member of the Knowle, Filwood & Windmill Hill neighbourhood partnership and neighbourhood committee.

b. Colin Smith

Colin Smith was first elected as a Labour councillor for Whitchurch Park ward in May 2002. He subsequently (from 2007) served as a Labour councillor for Bedminster ward. He stood down as a councillor in May 2015.

Details of Colin Smith's service are as follows:

- Over the years, served on all Development Control Committees,

and as Chair of the Development Control (South & East) Committee.

- Served as Chair of the Development Control (Enterprise Zone) Committee in 2012/13 and as Vice-Chair of Development Control (B) Committee in 2014/15.
- Also served on the Housing Scrutiny Commission, Select Committee on Museums, and Select Committee on Anti-Social Behaviour.
- Served on the Greater Bedminster Community Partnership and the Greater Bedminster neighbourhood committee.
- Served as Lord Mayor in 2010/11 and as Deputy Lord Mayor in 2011/12.

c. Jackie Norman

Jackie Norman was first elected as a Liberal Democrat councillor for Brislington West ward in a by-election in July 1997. She stood down as a councillor in May 2015.

Details of Jackie Norman's service are as follows:

- Over the years, served on various committees including the Leisure Services Committee, Social Services Committee, Childen's Services Scrutiny Commission and the People Scrutiny Commission.
- Served on the Corporate Parenting Panel since its inception, and was the Liberal Democrat group member of the Bristol Fostering Panel.
- Served as a member of the Bristol Adoption Panel for the last 8 years.
- Served as a member of the governing body of St Anne's Infant School since 1997 and currently the vice-chair of the governing body of the Hope virtual school for children in care.
- Served as a member of the Greater Brislington neighbourhood partnership and neighbourhood committee.

d. Faruk Choudhury

Faruk Choudhury was first elected as a Labour councillor for Easton ward in May 2007. He stood down as a councillor in May 2015.

Details of Faruk Choudhury's service are as follows:

- Over the years, served on numerous committees including the Development Control Committee, Health Scrutiny Commission and the Corporate Employee Health and Safety Consultative Committee.
- Labour group lead member for Community Cohesion and Safety Scrutiny Commission 2010/11 12/13
- Served as a member of the Ashley, Easton and Lawrence Hill neighbourhood partnership and neighbourhood committee.
- Served as Lord Mayor in 2013/14 and as Deputy Lord Mayor in 2014/15.

Other Options Considered

Not applicable

Risk Assessment

Not applicable

Equalities Impact Assessment

Not applicable

Legal and Resource Implications

Legal	As set out in the report
Financial	As set out in the report
Revenue	None
Capital	None

Land None

Personnel None

Appendices: None

LOCAL GOVERNMENT (ACCESS TO INFORMATION) ACT 1985

Background Papers:

None